Skip to content

A bitter taste in my mouth and in my soul….

August 7, 2010

So I’ve been somewhat disconnected from the ‘net lately. By that, I mean I’ve been too lazy to blog much. Or read blogs. It comes in waves.

So I log in to Google Reader and go right over to Prea Prez’s place. He wrote about how the edujobs bill was funded; when I read it, it stopped me in my tracks. Dead in my tracks.

Long and short of it is that the $10 billion in funding we got from Congress to help save teacher jobs, at least some of it was paid for by a phase-out of food stamp increases provided under the stimulus bill. That means families who qualified at some point won’t be getting the extra $80 a month.

Let me get this straight: 

In order to maintain a quality educational system for our students, we’re going to prevent teacher layoffs with this multi-billion dollar bill, bring these teachers back into the classroom to teach a bunch of students who don’t give a damn about learning because they’re hungry due to fact that the extra money their families would have gotten in food stamps now pays the teacher who watches over their hungry child?

There’s no other way to say it:

This is so fucked up. I want these teacher jobs back, but at the cost of hungry families? I agree with Antonucci on this one; where the money came from won’t make it to a presser anywhere.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 10:28 am

    I have to admit I have been a little out of the loop this summer too. I had no idea this was how the bill was going to be passed. How this solves anything is beyond me. For older students this hunger will drive them to go ahead and drop out so they can earn some money.

Leave a Reply

